Rockford IceHogs | On this Day in IceHogs History - June 24: 10…
Official site of the Rockford IceHogs
Proud Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

On this Day in IceHogs History - June 24: 10 IceHogs Alumni Help Blackhawks Capture 2013 Stanley Cup

Cup Winners640
On June 24, 2013, 10 former IceHogs helped the Chicago Blackhawks capture the 2013 Stanley Cup, their second title in four seasons and the second time 10 IceHogs alumni were a part of the championship run!

June 24, 2013

For the second time in four years, the Chicago Blackhawks have won the Stanley Cup. And for the second time, 10 former Rockford IceHogs were a part of the Hawks championship run.

Chicago defeated the Boston Bruins 3-2 in Game 6 of the best-of-seven series on Monday night at TD Garden in Boston. Former IceHogs goalie Corey Crawford led the way for Chicago, compiling a 16-7 record. Crawford played for Rockford from 2007-2010. Former Rockford forwards Bryan Bickell (2007-10) and Dave Bolland (2007-08) each scored goals within 17-seconds in the game's final moments to win the decisive game.

Other former IceHogs that had a hand in the Blackhawks second Stanley Cup since 2010 include Brandon Bollig, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Marcus Kruger, Nick Leddy, Brandon Saad, Ben Smith and Andrew Shaw. Bollig, Kruger, Leddy, Saad, Smith and Shaw all suited up and played for Rockford this past season.

For Bickell, Bolland and Hjalmarsson, the 2013 title marked the second of their respective careers.