Official site of the Rockford IceHogs
Proud Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks


Rookie Tournamentb

Chicago, Ill. - The Chicago Blackhawks announced their roster for the 2016 Rookie Tournament today, which will take place at Centre ICE Arena in Traverse City, Mich., from Sept. 16-20. The team includes 23 players (14 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders), and will be coached by Rockford IceHogs Head Coach Ted Dent and Assistant Coach Derek King.

Blackhawks prospects will compete versus rookie teams from the Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Minnesota Wild, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues. Teams are split into two divisions and will square off against each club within their division once during the round-robin before a crossover on the final day of the tournament, with the first-place finishers in each division meeting for the championship on Tuesday, Sept. 20.

Chicago’s roster is highlighted by first-round draft choice Nick Schmaltz (2014, 20th overall), Illinois native Roy Radke (2015 sixth-round selection, 164th overall), 2016 draft picks Alex DeBrincat (second round, 39th overall) and Nathan Noel (fourth round, 113th overall).

Five players on the roster have ties back to the IceHogs. Carl Dahlstrom, Tyler Motte, and Robin Norell all saw game action in Rockford last season while forward Bryn Chyzyk and goaltender Jake Hildebrand are under contract with the Hogs for the 2016-17 campaign. To view the full roster, click here.

Tickets for the 2016 Rookie Tournament can be purchased at Centre Ice Arena or