Official site of the Rockford IceHogs
Proud Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks


Baun Kyle1617 G Hd

Rockford, Ill. – The Rockford IceHogs wrapped up their 10th season in the American Hockey League and as the primary development affiliate of the NHL’s Chicago Blackhawks on April 15. Overall, the IceHogs saw eight players earn recalls from Rockford up to Chicago this season, and three of those got their first taste of NHL action during the 2016-17 campaign.

Gustav Forsling, Vince Hinostroza, Tyler Motte and Nick Schmaltz all secured a position on Chicago’s roster at the start of the season, later spent some time with the IceHogs, and were then recalled back to the Blackhawks later in the year. Tanner Kero made the jump to the NHL at the end of December and finished the season with Chicago, and Spencer Abbott played in his second-ever NHL game on Jan. 5. Goaltenders Jeff Glass and Lars Johansson also joined the Blackhawks throughout the season, but did not appear in a game.

Overall, 14 players who appeared in a game with the IceHogs last season are under contract with the Chicago Blackhawks next season. Four players are Restricted Free Agents (RFA) and a further 15 are Unrestricted Free Agents (UFA).

Under Contract (Year Expires): Restricted Free Agents: Unrestricted Free Agents:
Kyle Baun (2017-18) Erik Gustafsson Tyler Barnes
Jeff Glass (2017-18) Michael Latta Mac Carruth
Vince Hinostroza (2017-18) Ville Pokka Bryn Chyzyk
Viktor Svedberg (2017-18) Nolan Valleau Chris DeSousa
Carl Dahlstrom (2018-19) Jake Dowell
Gustav Forsling (2018-19) Jake Hildebrand
Matheson Iacopelli (2018-19) Lars Johansson
Luke Johnson (2018-19) P.C. Labrie
Tanner Kero (2018-19) Jeremy Langlois
Anthony Louis (2018-19) Martin Lundberg
Tyler Motte (2018-19) Nick Mattson
Robin Norell (2018-19) Brandon Mashinter
Nick Schmaltz (2018-19) Evan Mosey
Luc Snuggerud (2019-20) William Pelletier
Source: Robin Press

Rules governing UFA status state that a player is eligible after turning 27 or after playing at least seven seasons in the NHL. Any player who does not meet that threshold, and is out of their Entry Level Contract, becomes an RFA, and teams are eligible for compensatory draft picks if those players sign with a new organization.

Additionally, Radovan Bondra has not yet signed a professional contract as he joined the IceHogs on an Amateur Tryout agreement at the end of the season. He is eligible to return to juniors and his professional contract rights are maintained by the Blackhawks. Chicago also has Alex DeBrincat, Alexandre Fortin, Matthew Highmore and Graham Knott under contract for next season.

Season Tickets for 2017-18 on Sale Now: Don’t miss a moment of the action by reserving your seats for the IceHogs 19th season of professional hockey and 11th as the top AHL affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks. Please contact us at (815) 847-6399 or by visiting to claim your spots for this upcoming season.