Rockford IceHogs | Dylan McLaughlin Takes Home Leading Scorer Title…
Official site of the Rockford IceHogs
Proud Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Dylan McLaughlin Takes Home Leading Scorer Title and Most Improved Player Award

2021 IceHogs Team Awards: Most Improved Player

ROCKFORD, Ill. – The Rockford IceHogs, proud American Hockey League (AHL) affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks of the National Hockey League (NHL), announced today that forward Dylan McLaughlin is the winner of the team’s Most Improved Player award and was the team’s leading scorer during the 2021 season.

McLaughlin, 25, led the IceHogs with 22 points and 14 assists during the 2021 season and tied with rookie Chris Wilkie for the team lead with eight goals over 28 games. The Lancaster, New York, native began the season with two assists in the first two games and skated an impressive run from Mar. 13-May 1 with seven goals and nine assists for 16 points over 14 games including a four-game point streak (two goals, five assists) from Mar. 13-Mar. 22 and a three-game goal and point streak (three goals, three assists) from Apr. 24-May 1.

“It’s a huge honor,” said McLaughlin. “I’ve worked hard over the summer and have played with a lot of good guys here. We are all competing against each other every day with all the players we had here and it’s important to take advantage of the opportunities you get and I’ve been fortunate to take advantage of those opportunities through hard work and consistency.”

2021 IceHogs Team Awards: Most Improved Player - Dylan McLaughlin

The 2021 season was McLaughlin’s sophomore campaign in the AHL and with the IceHogs after adding seven points (two goals, five assists) in 28 games during his rookie season in the Stateline and also picked up an impressive 24 points (13 goals, 11 assists) in 20 games with the Indy Fuel of the ECHL, including an eight-game point streak (eight goals, four assists).

“When he’s skating, he’s a fun player to watch,” mentioned Head Coach Derek King after Dylan’s multi-point performance (goal, assist) last Friday vs. Chicago. “That’s everybody. Sometimes we have tendencies to stand still and try and make plays and it doesn’t work. Laffer is having a good year and finished strong and I like the fact that he’s competing all the way to the end.”

Prior to turning pro, the 5-foot-10, 187-pound forward combined for 147 points (58 goals, 89 assists) in 152 career NCAA contests over four seasons at Canisius College from 2015-19 and was a Hobey Baker Award finalist during the 2017-18 season. He was named one of’s Three Stars of the Week three times during his tenure at Canisius and honored as the AHC Player of the Month in October 2017. In addition, McLaughlin helped the Golden Griffins to an 18-4-6 conference record and the school’s first-ever first-place finish in the AHC during his sophomore season in 2016-17.

IceHogs Leading Scorers

99-00 Jason Firth

00-01 Mike Figliomeni

01-02 Jeff Antonovich

02-03 Matt Loen

03-04 Dave Paradise

04-05 J.F. Dufour

05-06 Jason Notermann

06-07 Preston Mizzi

07-08 Martin St. Pierre

08-09 Tim Brent

09-10 Mark Cullen

10-11 Jeff Taffe

11-12 Brandon Pirri

12-13 Brandon Pirri

13-14 Adam Clendening

14-15 Spencer Abbott

15-16 Vince Hinostroza

16-17 Kyle Baun

17-18 Anthony Louis

18-19 Not Awarded

19-20 Tyler Sikura

20-21 Dylan McLaughlin

Most Improved Player Award Winners

99-00 Carlos Soke

00-01 Evgeny Krivomaz

01-02 Jeremy Vokes

02-03 Brad Olsen

03-04 Kelly Miller

04-05 Miguel Lafleche

05-06 Chaz Johnson

06-07 Kevin Ulanski

07-08 Bryan Bickell

08-09 Evan Brophey

09-10 David Phillips

10-11 Ryan Stanton

11-12 Ben Youds

12-13 Klas Dahlbeck

13-14 Terry Broadhurst

14-15 Phillip Danault

15-16 Kirill Gotovets

16-17 Kyle Baun

17-18 Collin Delia

18-19 Dennis Gilbert

19-20 MacKenzie Entwistle

20-21 Dylan McLaughlin