Rockford IceHogs | 2016 NHL DRAFT: 2ND ROUND PICKS
Official site of the Rockford IceHogs
Proud Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks


Pokka Ville Draft1516 J Oa

Rockford, Ill. – The 2016 NHL Draft begins on Friday, June 24 at the First Niagara Center, the home of the Buffalo Sabres. Friday features the first round, in which the Blackhawks do not have a selection, and the second through seventh rounds are scheduled for Saturday.

The Chicago Blackhawks, Rockford’s NHL affiliate, are scheduled to make their first selection of the draft in the second round, #50 overall, after acquiring the pick and a third round selection in 2017 in a trade with the Carolina Hurricanes last week. The selection originally belonged to the New York Rangers. Chicago has a total of eight selections in this year’s draft, including back-to-back picks at #143 and #144.

The IceHogs have seen a number of second round picks make their way to Rockford since joining the American Hockey League in 2007. The team’s all-time leader in goals, Jeremy Morin, was selected by the Atlanta Thrashers in the second round (#45 overall) in 2009. He has notched 90 goals in an IceHogs uniform, is second all-time with 180 points, and fifth all-time with 236 games played. Morin’s 783 shots on goal also lead all Rockford skaters in team history.

Another notable second round selection, Bryan Bickell (#41 overall by Chicago in 2004) suited up for 47 games with the IceHogs last season and has appeared in 227 games with Rockford during his career. Bickell is fourth in the team’s AHL history with 140 points, sixth with 56 goals, and seventh with 439 shots on goal.

Brandon Pirri was drafted by the Blackhawks at #59 overall in 2009 and went on to play in 238 games with the IceHogs. He is the team’s all-time leader in points (200) and assists (132). Pirri’s 68 goals are second only to Morin in Rockford’s nine AHL seasons.

Last season, the IceHogs roster featured five players that were drafted in the second round. Those players include Bryan Bickell, Carl Dahlstrom, Dillon Fournier, Jeremy Morin and Ville Pokka. Pokka finished the year as the team’s top-scoring defenseman. He led the IceHogs in assists (35) and also contributed 10 goals, more than any other Rockford defenseman last season.

Five second-round selections have played in Rockford and have their name etched on the Stanley Cup. Bickell, Corey Crawford (#52 overall by Chicago in 2003) and Brandon Saad (#43 by Chicago in 2011) all won the Cup in 2013 and 2015. Dave Bolland (#32 by Chicago in 2004) helped the Blackhawks to the championship in 2010 and 2013, and Jassen Cullimore (#29 overall by Vancouver in 1991) won the trophy with Tampa Bay in 2004. He skated in 100 games for the IceHogs from 2009-11.

A list of the second-round draft picks to play in Rockford is below:

Year Drafted
Akim Aliu
2007 (#56 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Dan Bertram
2005 (#54 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Bryan Bickell
2004 (#41 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Mike Blunden
2005 (#43 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Dave Bolland
2004 (#32 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
T.J. Brennan
2007 (#31 overall)
Buffalo Sabres
Jeff Christian
1988 (#23 overall)
New Jersey Devils
Adam Clendening
2011 (#36 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Corey Crawford
2003 (#52 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Jassen Cullimore
1991 (#29 overall)
Vancouver Canucks
Carl Dahlstrom
2013 (#51 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Simon Danis-Pepin
2006 (#61 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Dillon Fournier
2012 (#48 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Jimmy Hayes
2008 (#60 overall)
Toronto Maple Leafs
Justin Holl
2010 (#54 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Doug Janik
1999 (#55 overall)
Buffalo Sabres
Stephen Johns
2010 (#60 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Ryan Johnson
1994 (#36 overall)
Florida Panthers
Matt Keith
2001 (#59 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Igor Makarov
2006 (#33 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Jeremy Morin
2009 (#45 overall)
Atlanta Thrashers
Adam Pineault
2004 (#46 overall)
Columbus Blue Jackets
Brandon Pirri
2009 (#59 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Ville Pokka
2012 (#34 overall)
New York Islanders
Danny Richmond
2003 (#31 overall)
Carolina Hurricanes
Brandon Saad
2011 (#43 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Maxime Sauve 2008 (#47 overall)
Boston Bruins
Keith Seabrook
2006 (#52 overall)
Washington Capitals
Kent Simpson
2010 (#58 overall)
Chicago Blackhawks
Logan Stephenson
2004 (#35 overall)
Phoenix Coyotes
Brad Winchester
2000 (#35 overall)
Edmonton Oilers

Season Tickets for 2016-17 on Sale Now: Don’t miss a moment of the action by reserving your seats for the IceHogs 18th season of professional hockey and 10th as the top AHL affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks. Please contact us at (815) 847-6399 or by visiting to claim your spots for this upcoming season.