Proud American Hockey League Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Buy Tickets

IceHogs News


By: Chris Etheridge
Tanguay one of 11 rookies to skate for American Conference

Rockford, Ill.- Toledo Walleye defenseman J.C. Sawyer and forward Maxime Tanguay have been selected to appear at the 2010 ECHL All-Star game on January 20 in Ontario, Calif., the ECHL announced on Thursday. Sawyer has been named a starter for the American Conference.

Sawyer, 23, leads all ECHL defensemen in scoring with 28 points (12g-16a) and is tied for the Toledo lead in goals. His five game-winning goals, three of which have been collected in overtime, are tied for the most in the ECHL. He has appeared in four games in 2009-10 for the Rockford IceHogs, recording one assist.  In 23 career games with Rockford, the blueliner has three goals and two assists.  He was selected #161 overall (round 5) by the Minnesota Wild in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.

It will be the second All-Star appearance for Sawyer.  The Saint John, New Brunswick native represented the Pensacola Ice Pilots in the 2008 during his first professional season.

Tanguay, 21, leads Toledo and is second among ECHL rookies in scoring with 30 points (11g-19a).  The Lac Etchemin, Quebec native has six points (2g-4a) in his last two games with Toledo (12/18-12/19). He has one assist in four games with Rockford during the campaign.  The centerman was selected #69 overall (round 3) by the Chicago Blackhawks in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.  He is one of 11 rookies on the American Conference team this season and one of 19 skaters making his first ECHL All-Star Game appearance.

The 2010 ECHL All-Star Game presented by Reebok Hockey and brought to you by Toyota and the City of Ontario, Calif. will be played on Jan. 20, 2010 while the 2010 ECHL All-Star Skills Competition will be held on Jan. 19, 2010.

There have been 58 players from the All-Star Game who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 33 since 2002 when the lineups began having players who coaches felt were prospects to move up to a higher level.

The starting lineups are determined in voting by American Conference coaches, team captains, media directors, broadcasters and media members. Coaches also submitted the top prospects from within their conference to determine the final roster with each of the 12 teams having a representative.

Next Home Game: Saturday, Jan. 2 vs. Grand Rapids Griffins. Game time is 7:05 p.m. Cure your holiday hangover with the IceHogs as they open up the 2010 portion of the regular season. The game is one in a series of the “Go Green” initiative by the IceHogs, who will be giving away “Go Green” T-shirts made out of environmentally friendly material sponsored by BOB FM and WTVO.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010

December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
December 0200