Proud American Hockey League Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Buy Tickets

IceHogs News


Several American Hockey League graduates, including Chicago's , and Chicago’s Kris Versteeg, will be up for major honors when the National Hockey League holds its annual awards ceremony on Thursday night in Las Vegas. Versteeg is up against Columbus' Steve Mason and Anaheim’s Bobby Ryan for the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s outstanding rookie.

A 2008 AHL All-Star, Ryan is aiming to capture the NHL's top rookie award one year after being named to the AHL's All-Rookie squad.

Mason is also nominated for the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goaltender, as is Boston’s
Tim Thomas, a 20-game winner with Providence in 2003-04.

1998 AHL All-Star
Zdeno Chara (Boston) and 2006 Calder Cup champion Mike Green (Washington) are both finalists for the Norris Trophy, given annually to the NHL’s best defenseman, while 2005 AHL All-Star Ryan Kesler (Vancouver) and 2005 Calder Cup champ Mike Richards (Philadelphia) bid for the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league’s top defensive forward.

Two other former AHL All-Stars – New Jersey’s
Zach Parise (2005) and Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis (1999) – are candidates for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to NHL’s most gentlemanly player.

1995 Calder Cup champion
Steve Sullivan (Nashville) and 1996 Calder Cup finalist Richard Zednik (Florida) join Chris Chelios (Detroit) as finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which goes to the player who most displays perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Boston’s Claude Julien and San Jose’s Todd McLellan are both nominees for the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s outstanding coach. McLellan won the Calder Cup as bench boss of Houston in 2003, defeating in the Finals a Hamilton squad which was guided by that year’s co-AHL coach of the year Julien before he was promoted to the NHL midway through the season.

All voting is conducted at the conclusion of the regular season. Three other awards, the Hart Trophy (most valuable player), the King Clancy Trophy (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community), and the Lester B. Pearson Award (most outstanding player), will also be presented at the awards ceremony, to be held at the Palms Hotel.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010

December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
December 0200