Proud American Hockey League Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Buy Tickets

IceHogs News


By: Mike Peck

Players recognized for outstanding season

Rockford, Ill.- Rockford IceHogs Team President Ryan Washatka along with Head Coach Mike Haviland and Assistant Coach Ted Dent presented the IceHogs 2007-08 team awards following the Hogs final regular season game on Sunday afternoon against the Iowa Stars.

Overall, the club handed out seven different awards. 

The only player to receive multiple awards was Martin St. Pierre.  St. Pierre was awarded Team MVP and Leading Scorer for the ’07-08 season. St. Pierre led the IceHogs in points and assists and was Rockford’s only representative at the AHL’s Annual All-Star Game.  The centerman was also named a Second Team All-Star last week.

Rockford’s Rookie of the Year went to winger Jack Skille.  Skille led all IceHogs first year skaters in points during his first full professional season.  Entering play on Sunday, Skille had amassed 33 points.  The Madison, Wisconsin native also received a pair of recalls to the Chicago Blackhawks playing in 16 games and netting a pair of goals with three assists.

Winger Bryan Bickell was honored with the team’s Most Improved Award.  Playing in his second season in the AHL, Bickell easily topped his point production from his rookie season.  With the IceHogs this season, Bickell chipped in 19 goals and 20 assists.  Bickell also established himself as one of Rockford’s most physical players. 

The IceHogs awarded center Colin Fraser with the club’s Unsung Hero Award for ’07-08.  Fraser, an IceHogs alternate captain, was one of Rockford’s top penalty killers this season.  Entering play on Sunday, Fraser had appeared in 74 games and accumulated 16 goals and 22 assists.  Fraser also ranked at or near the top in plus/minus on the IceHogs this season.

Wade Flaherty has named the IceHogs Fan Favorite.  The Hogs veteran puck stopper earned his 300th career win in 2007-08.  Flaherty played in 31 games with Rockford and his veteran presence was key for the club on and off the ice.  Skating in his 19th professional season, Flaherty turned in a record of 13-8-1 with two shutouts. 

Center Gavin Morgan recognized as the IceHogs Man of Year during Rockford’s first season in the AHL.  Morgan was of the leaders on the IceHogs in the community and participated in several different community events throughout the course of the season.


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010

December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
December 0200