Proud Affiliate



01/24/2012 12:01 PM

Article By:

Rockford, Ill.- The American Hockey League announced that Rockford IceHogs defenseman Brian Connelly has been added to the 2012 AHL All-Star Game. Connelly will make his second straight All-Star Game appearance when he joins IceHogs center Brandon Pirri representing Rockford in Atlantic City on Sunday, Jan. 29 and Monday, Jan. 30.

The honor isn’t the first for Connelly, who was named to the Western Conference All-Star team in 2011 and registered two assists in the contest. Connelly is the first member of the AHL-era IceHogs to be named to multiple All-Star teams.

Skating in his fourth season with the IceHogs, Connelly leads Rockford with 31 assists, which is also good for second among AHL d-men. The Bloomington, Minn., native also ranks second in overall scoring from the blueline with 36 points, including five goals in 2011-12.

Connelly, 25, finished the 2010-11 season sixth in scoring among AHL defensemen with 52 points and second among his fellow d-men with four game-winning goals. The alternate captain was the only IceHogs skater to play in all 80 games a season ago, setting Rockford AHL records in points (52), goals (11) and assists (41) by a defenseman. Connelly is Rockford's all-time assists leader and defensemen points leader.

Tickets for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic – which include admission to both the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 29, and the 2012 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 30 – are on sale now at the Boardwalk Hall box office, all Ticketmaster locations, by calling (800) 736-1420 or at Tickets are also available for the Post-Skills Party (January 29, 5:30 p.m.) and the 2012 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January 30, 11 a.m.) at Caesars Atlantic City.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Of the 562 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Ryan Callahan, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Jimmy Howard, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, P.K. Subban and Tomas Vokoun.