Proud Affiliate



Photo by Jim Orlando
01/04/2012 3:05 PM

Article By: Mike Peck

Second-year winger leads the IceHogs in points

Brandon Pirri talks about the All-Star Game

Rockford, Ill.- The American Hockey League announced on Wednesday that Rockford IceHogs center Brandon Pirri has been named to the 2012 AHL All-Star Game. The game will be played in Atlantic City, N.J. on Monday, Jan. 30, while the skills competition is slated for Sunday, Jan. 29.

Pirri, 21, is in his second season with the IceHogs and currently leads Rockford with 14 goals and 32 points in 31 games. The Toronto, Ont. native also leads Rockford with 11 multi-point games, six more than the next closest skater.

The Chicago Blackhawks second round pick (#59 overall) in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, Pirri has played four games with the Blackhawks this season, marking two assists.  The center also appeared in one game with the Blackhawks during his rookie season, making his professional debut with the club on Oct. 9, 2010 against Detroit.

During his rookie season with Rockford, Pirri finished with 12g-31a-43pts in 70 games in 2010-11.  Dating back to March 19, Pirri has skated in 43 games with the IceHogs and has totaled 18g-31a-49pts.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic Fan Balloting presented by Reebok will begin Thursday, Jan. 5, at noon ET on the official Web site of the AHL at and on the Official American Hockey League Fan Page at

Fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2012 AHL All-Star Game by visiting or and completing the official Reebok AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. By completing the official ballot, fans will also be entered to win a grand prize of a team-signed authentic 2012 AHL All-Star jersey. Five more winners will each receive a pair of tickets to the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition and All-Star Game, courtesy of Insurance Office of America.

On-line fan balloting at will end at noon ET on Monday, January 23, 2012.

Tickets for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic – which include admission to both the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 29, and the 2012 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 30 – are on sale now at the Boardwalk Hall box office, all Ticketmaster locations, by calling (800) 736-1420 or at Tickets are also available for the Post-Skills Party (January 29, 5:30 p.m.) and the 2012 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January  30, 11 a.m.) at Caesars Atlantic City.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Of the 562 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Ryan Callahan, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Jimmy Howard, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, P.K. Subban and Tomas Vokoun.
2012 AHL All-Stars: Western Conference
ABB – Krys Kolanos, Clay Wilson
CHA – Jon Matsumoto, Jerome Samson
CHI – Darren Haydar (“C”), Kevin Connauton
GR – Gustav Nyquist
HAM – Frederic St. Denis
HOU – Matt Hackett, Jon DiSalvatore
LE – Cedrick Desjardins
MIL – Ryan Ellis, Chris Mueller
OKC – Philippe Cornet, Yann Danis, Alex Plante
PEO – T.J. Hensick, Cade Fairchild
RCH – Brayden McNabb
RFD – Brandon Pirri
SA – Colby Robak
TEX – Matt Fraser
TOR – Joe Colborne, Nazem Kadri

2012 AHL All-Stars: Eastern Conference
ADK – Michael Leighton
ALB – Matt Taormina
BNG – Corey Locke
BRI – Calvin de Haan
CT – Jonathan Audy-Marchessault, Mats Zuccarello
HER – Boyd Kane (“C”), Keith Aucoin, Chris Bourque
MCH – Jeff Zatkoff, Thomas Hickey
NOR – Mark Barberio, Cory Conacher, Trevor Smith
POR – Andy Miele
PRO – Carter Camper
SPR – Cam Atkinson
STJ – Paul Postma, Zach Redmond
SYR – Kyle Palmieri
WBS – Simon Despres, Colin McDonald
WOR – Matt Irwin, Tyson Sexsmith