Proud Affiliate



06/17/2009 1:20 PM - is releasing the winners of the inaugural Blackhawks Fans Choice Awards. At least one new winner will be announced each day this week.

Previously lost among Chicago’s other young stars, Kris Versteeg made himself impossible to ignore this season, turning into a dangerous scorer and giving the Blackhawks their third Calder Trophy finalist in two years. In 78 games this season, Versteeg netted 22 goals and tallied 31 assists. He also led all NHL rookies in assists and finished third in points (53). Versteeg managed to make Blackhawks history a few times in 2008-09, tying a Blackhawks rookie record for shorthanded goals (4), and recording the first-ever goal in Wrigley Field history, 6:26 into the Winter Classic. Most importantly, Versteeg went a long way to proving that the Hawks’ stable of young, talented forwards doesn’t end with Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews.

Voting results:
Kris Versteeg (49%)
Niklas Hjalmarsson (25%)
Dave Bolland (14%)
Andrew Ladd (13%)
Cam Barker (6%)