Proud American Hockey League Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Our Town Or Team
Buy Tickets


Sharks, Wings Lead 2009 Western Conference All-Star Reserves

01/07/2009 1:35 PM - From (link)

Two players each from the League-leading San Jose Sharks and Stanley Cup champion Detroit Red Wings headline the 15 players named today to the Western Conference roster for the 57th NHL All-Star Game, Sunday, Jan. 25 at Bell Centre in Montreal (6 p.m. ET, CBC, RDS, VERSUS, NHL Radio).

The Sharks, who own the NHL's best record at 29-5-5, will send center Joe Thornton for his sixth consecutive All-Star Game appearance and defenseman Dan Boyle, who will make his All-Star debut. The Red Wings (27-7-5) rank second to San Jose in the Western Conference and will be represented by defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom, who will play in his 10th consecutive and 11th career All-Star Game, and center Pavel Datsyuk, set to make his third career trip to the All-Star celebration.

Western Conference roster additions making their first All-Star Game appearance in addition to Boyle are goaltender Niklas Backstrom of the Minnesota Wild, defenseman Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators and left wing Dustin Brown of the Los Angeles Kings.

Joining Backstrom in the Western Conference goal is Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks, who will play in his third career All-Star Game. The event will mark a homecoming for Luongo, who was born and played minor hockey in Montreal.

Another player named to the West roster today with connections to the All-Star host city is Edmonton Oilers defenseman Sheldon Souray, who played seven seasons on the Montreal Canadiens blueline and represented the club in two All-Star Games.

Other Western Conference forwards selected include Columbus Blue Jackets left wing Rick Nash, who set an All-Star Game record by scoring 12 seconds into last year's contest in Atlanta and went on to tally a hat trick in the 8-7 loss to the East. This year's high-scoring West attack is rounded out by Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla, Colorado Avalanche right wing Milan Hejduk, Dallas Stars center Mike Modano, Phoenix Coyotes right wing Shane Doan and St. Louis Blues center Keith Tkachuk.

The players selected today join six players voted by fans to the starting lineup: defenseman Brian Campbell and forwards Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks, and defenseman Scott Niedermayer, forward Ryan Getzlaf and goaltender J.S. Giguere of the Anaheim Ducks.

The roster additions were selected by the NHL’s Hockey Operations Department, after consultation with League General Managers. The full Eastern Conference All-Star roster will be announced tomorrow.

The 2009 NHL All-Star Weekend in Montreal will celebrate the Montreal Canadiens’ Centennial season with live national broadcasts of the Honda/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 24, and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 25, on CBC and RDS in Canada and VERSUS in the United States. NASN, ASN, J Sports, Sky Mexico, Fox Sports Australia and other NHL international broadcast partners will provide live coverage of both the Honda/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 150 countries and territories in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, the Pacific Rim, Mexico and the Caribbean. NHL Radio will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on Sirius XM Radio's NHL Home Ice, located at XM channel 204 and on SIRIUS channel 208 with the “Best of XM” programming package. and NHL Network will provide extensive coverage of the All-Star Weekend.



* J.S. Giguere, Anaheim Ducks
Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild
Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks


* Brian Campbell, Chicago Blackhawks
* Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
Sheldon Souray, Edmonton Oilers
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators
Dan Boyle, San Jose Sharks


* Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
* Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
* Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
Milan Hejduk, Colorado Avalanche
Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets
Mike Modano, Dallas Stars
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
Keith Tkachuk, St. Louis Blues
Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks

* players voted to the starting lineup in XM NHL All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010

December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
December 0200