Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


04/12/2013 9:30 PM

Article By: Mike Peck

IceHogs top Chicago to win the intra-state rivalry series

Rockford, Ill.- With the Rockford IceHogs 7-3 win over the Chicago Wolves on Friday night at the BMO Harris Bank Center in Rockford, the IceHogs have won the 2nd Annual Illinois Lottery Cup.

The Illinois Lottery Cup is a head-to-head competition between the American Hockey League’s Chicago Wolves, Rockford IceHogs and the Peoria Rivermen. Rockford finished the series with 13 combined wins over Chicago and Peoria.

"The Illinois Lottery Cup is representative of a spirited, intra-state competition between three fine Illinois hockey teams," said Lottery Superintendent Michael Jones. "Congratulations to the Rockford IceHogs for capturing this year's cup--and for setting the stage for an exciting conclusion to the American Hockey League season."

This year’s Illinois Lottery Cup came down to Friday’s final meeting between Rockford and Chicago as all three teams competing for the Cup still had an opportunity to win it. Peoria won the Inaugural Illinois Lottery Cup last season.

About the Illinois Lottery

Founded in 1974, the Illinois Lottery has contributed over$17.5 billion to the state Common School Fund, as well as the Capital Projects Fund. Players must be at least 18 years old.
About the Illinois Lottery Cup
The Illinois Lottery Cup brings a new level of excitement to the regular-season games played between the Chicago Wolves, Peoria Rivermen and Rockford IceHogs. The three teams competed all season for the best regular-season record against one another. Not only does the Illinois Lottery Cup provide an added element of competition for the three intrastate rivals this season, but it brings the Lottery out to each community to cheer on all three teams and connect with American Hockey League fans.