Proud American Hockey League Affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks

Buy Tickets

IceHogs News


By: Nate Haeni
Rockford, Ill.- With opening night just over 24 hours away, the Rockford IceHogs, members of the American Hockey League and proud affiliates of the Chicago Blackhawks, have set their opening night roster.

The Hogs open the regular season on Saturday against the Grand Rapids Griffins at the BMO Harris Bank Center at 7:05 p.m. The U.S. Cellular Pregame Show kicks off at 6:35 p.m. on the IceHogs Broadcasting Network. For tickets, call (815) 968-5222, log on to or visit the BMO Harris Bank Center Box Office.

The IceHogs return 13 players (Kyle Beach, Brandon Bollig, Brian Connelly, Chris DiDomenico, Jimmy Hayes, Rob Klinkhammer, Shawn Lalonde, Joe Lavin, Peter LeBlanc, Jeremy Morin, Dylan Olsen, Ryan Stanton and Alec Richards) that skated on the team in 2010-11, including two (Hayes and Lavin) that joined the team following their collegiate seasons. The opening night roster features four veterans and seven rookies.

Forward Brandon Segal returns to Rockford after skating for the IceHogs in 2004-05 when the team was part of the United Hockey League. Segal will become the first player in franchise history to skate for the IceHogs as members of the AHL or UHL.

The full roster is set at 23 skaters, including 14 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders.

Every fan in attendance for Opening Night will receive an IceHogs 2011-12 magnet schedule courtesy of BMO Harris Bank.

Fans can get an early start to the Opening Night festivities by heading to Davis Park for the 31st Annual Cumulus Chili Shoot-Out on Saturday from noon till 7 p.m. Patrons that purchase a ticket to the Chili Shoot-Out can get $2 off of their ticket to the IceHogs game on Oct. 8 by showing the ticket at the box office.  Fans already with IceHogs tickets will receive $2 off their Chili Shoot-Out ticket.

Listed below is the IceHogs Opening Day Roster:

Forwards (14): Kyle Beach, Brandon Bollig, Chris DiDomenico, Rob Flick, Byron Froese, Jimmy Hayes, Rob Klinkhammer, Marcus Kruger, Peter LeBlanc, Brett McLean, Jeremy Morin, Brandon Segal, Andrew Shaw and David Toews.

Defensemen (7): Brian Connelly, Brian Fahey, Shawn Lalonde, Joe Lavin, Dylan Olsen, Ryan Stanton and Ben Youds.

Goaltenders (2): Alec Richards and Alexander Salak.

Next Home Game: Saturday, Oct. 8 vs. Grand Rapids. The IceHogs open the 2011-12 season against the Grand Rapids Griffins at 7:05 p.m. at the BMO Harris Bank Center. Every fan in attendance will get an IceHogs 2011-12 magnet schedule. For tickets call (815) 968-5222 or visit Don’t forget to follow the IceHogs on Twitter (@goicehogs) and Facebook (/RockfordIceHogs).

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010

December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
December 0200