Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News

Kane, Byfuglien Invited To Team USA Orientation Camp

06/30/2009 1:37 PM - From (link)

USA Hockey today announced that 34 players, representing 22 National Hockey League teams, have been invited to the U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp from Aug. 17-19, at Seven Bridges Ice Arena in Woodridge, Ill.

The camp is designed to assist in the preparation of the 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team that will compete at the XXI Olympic Winter Games to be held from Feb. 12-28, 2010, in Vancouver, B.C.

Of the 34 players invited to the camp, five have previous Olympic experience, led by three-time Olympian Mike Modano (Livonia, Mich./Dallas Stars/1998, 2002, 2006). Additional Olympians include Chris Drury (Trumbull, Conn./New York Rangers/2002, 2006), Brian Rafalski (Dearborn, Mich./Detroit Red Wings/2002, 2006), Scott Gomez (Anchorage, Alaska/New York Rangers/2006) and Jamie Langenbrunner (Cloquet, Minn./New Jersey Devils/1998).

Other players highlighting the roster include 2009 Vezina Trophy winner Tim Thomas (Flint, Mich./Boston Bruins); Zach Parise (Minneapolis, Minn./New Jersey Devils), who led all Americans with 45 goals and 94 points during the 2008-09 season; and NHL Entry Draft No. 1 overall picks Erik Johnson (Bloomington, Minn./St. Louis Blues) and Patrick Kane (Buffalo, N.Y./Chicago Blackhawks).

Eight players included on the orientation camp roster played for the U.S. Men's National Team at the 2009 International Ice Hockey Federation World Championship in Bern, Switzerland, including defensemen Ron Hainsey (Bolton, Conn./Atlanta Thrashers), Jack Johnson (Indianapolis, Ind./Los Angeles Kings) and Ryan Suter (Madison, Wis./Nashville Predators), as well as forwards David Backes (Minneapolis, Minn./St. Louis Blues), Dustin Brown (Ithaca, N.Y./Los Angeles Kings), Kyle Okposo (St. Paul, Minn./New York Islanders), T.J. Oshie (Warroad, Minn./St. Louis Blues) and Joe Pavelski (Stevens Point, Wis./San Jose Sharks).

2009 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp Roster
Goaltenders: Ryan Miller, Jonathan Quick, Tim Thomas

Tom Gilbert, Tim Gleason, Ron Hainsey, Erik Johnson, Jack Johnson, Mike Komisarek, Paul Martin, Brooks Orpik, Brian Rafalski, Rob Scuderi, Ryan Suter, Ryan Whitney

David Backes, David Booth, Dustin Brown, Dustin Byfuglien, Ryan Callahan, Chris Drury, Scott Gomez, Patrick Kane, Ryan Kesler, Phil Kessel, Jamie Langenbrunner, Ryan Malone, Mike Modano, Kyle Okposo, T.J. Oshie, Zach Parise, Joe Pavelski, Bobby Ryan, Paul Stastny